Writing Seminar in City of Light


June 27, 2010 and I’m in Paris again… think I’ll make this an annual event!  I love visiting at this time of year, as it isn’t yet crowded with tourists.  The weather has been warm, especially sweltering on the Luxembourg-bound RER B yesterday when the packed train for some reason was not taking off and, my high-school french notwithstanding, I couldn’t understand the announcements being made.  So I walked up from the bowels of the Chatelet metro station and set off on foot for the area near the Luxembourg Gardens, in search of a copy center to print out my 8-page manuscript due today for my first (and possibly only, ever) writing seminar.

It was a long walk, and copies were expensive (50 euros for 10 copies of a 9-page document) but I guess that is my punishment for not getting the thing written and copied before I left the States.  10 copies of manuscript in hand, I headed off, again on foot, to what I thought was a short walk to Forum 404 to meet and greet my fellow seminar attendees and teacher.  It was not a short walk.  And it was hot.  Sor I arrived, 1-1/2 hours late, sweat dripping from me (excuse me, not sweat.  As a good Southern Woman, I do not sweat, I merely “glow.”  But I was glowing quite brightly!)

I was hoping that my fears of the class would be unfounded.  There were not.  There was a great foundation for them, in fact.  I’m the only student in my classes that is new to writing, and to writing seminars.  It was intimidating, to say the least.

First I met a woman who writes grants for a State university …and who is a regular at writing seminars.  Next I met a woman who has her own blog promoting her writings, then a college professor who teaches Creative Writing.  Needless to say they intimidated me, but it turned out that the professor was helpful to have in class, as we had the benefit of a second teacher in many respects.

The most important take-away from the week was the most important thing I can do to become a writer is to write.  Of course I didn’t have to go to Paris for that, but it was a wonderful setting to re-engage and focus my energies into putting effort into a long-held goal.  Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

The Junia Project

A Community Advocating for Women's Equality in the Church

Park City Farmer's Market | Park City, Utah

Farmer's Market Wednesdays at Canyons Park City 12-5PM

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The Blog of Author Tim Ferriss

Tim Ferriss's 4-Hour Workweek and Lifestyle Design Blog

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

Vanguard Blog

Insights and opinions from Vanguard leaders

Ancestral Voices

by LINDA PROUD

fox5sandiego.com

Get the latest San Diego news, breaking news, weather, traffic, sports, entertainment and video from fox5sandiego.com. Watch live streaming newscasts from FOX 5 San Diego, KSWB Channel 5.

A.C. Melody

Love on the Edge

the bippity boppity beautiful blog

let's create something beautiful - Katie Ann De Crescenzo

eat.drink.give.go

a place to share experiences

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

