Packing Christmas


My daughter begs me to only hand 5 ornaments on the tree … at 16, she doesn’t want to take the time to hang them and dreads having to take them down a few weeks later. But I insist that we hang every one, because, other than the “filler” balls, each ornament comes with its own memory that decorating the tree lets me remember each December.

There are baby blue ornaments to celebrate my son’s birth– several times more than the pink ones for my daughter’s birth three years later, which she doesn’t hesitate to point out time — and Barbie doll ornaments from when she was a little girl.

Unwrapping the tissue from Darth Vadar and Winnie the Pooh, Nolan Ryan (my son’s namesake) and Mohammad Ali (my husband’s favorite) reminds me of watching the Star Wars movies with my kids and reading marathons of the Adventures of Christopher Robin.

Henry VIII reminds us of our crazy 5-day trip to London when British Airways offered $99 flights direct from San Diego. I couldn’t pass up those fares, so I took my 6 and 8-year old kids out of school for a few days in the dead of winter and we had a blast making our way through the maze at Hampton Court, hearing tales of days long ago at the Tower of London, and spending hours on end at the Natural History and other Museums.

There is a cotton football player dressed in maroon and white in honor of Texas A&M,and ballet slippers to remember the year my daughter took dance.

I hope when I pass these ornaments along to my children for their own trees, memories of our trips and memories of past Christmases will flood back to them when they unwrap the ornaments from their childhood.

Now they are put away, for next year’s tree, and I look forward to many adventures in 2011 which I can memorialize with an ornament to add to next year’s tree.

Comments

  1. LOL, I”m with the 16 yr old daughter….okay, maybe 7!!!

Leave a Reply

The Junia Project

A Community Advocating for Women's Equality in the Church

Park City Farmer's Market | Park City, Utah

Farmer's Market Wednesdays at Canyons Park City 12-6PM

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The Blog of Author Tim Ferriss

Tim Ferriss's 4-Hour Workweek and Lifestyle Design Blog

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

Vanguard Blog

Insights and opinions from Vanguard leaders

Ancestral Voices

by LINDA PROUD

fox5sandiego.com

Get the latest San Diego news, breaking news, weather, traffic, sports, entertainment and video from fox5sandiego.com. Watch live streaming newscasts from FOX 5 San Diego, KSWB Channel 5.

A.C. Melody

Love on the Edge

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

eat.drink.give.go

a place to share experiences

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

