Not much time t…


Breathe

Breathe (Photo credit: elycefeliz)

Not much time today but I wanted to post a link regarding mindfulness and celebrating the miracle of life.  In many situations we are told to focus on our breathe and to breath from our diaphragms.  Scuba diving, for example.  I always end up with more air in my tank than anyone else when scuba diving because I focus on slow, deep, what-I-call-yoga breaths (mostly to ease my anxiety as I think of all the horrible things that could go wrong and cause me not to be able to breath while I am 80 feet under water).

Scuba diving in Elba island, Italy

Image via Wikipedia

Yoga, clearly…meditation.  Acting.  I’m taking a voice class (meant to help us with public speaking), and the first lesson and the first portion of each subsequent class we spend working on our breath, as without having good breath we cannot give voice to our thoughts or those of our characters.  As noted in the attached link, if we focus on our breath we can celebrate the fact that we are here, alive, able to breathe.  I sometimes imagine what it will be like when I take my last breath, or if, ailing, dying, knowing the end is near I will finally value the miracle that is my ability to breath in fresh air, and wish I hadn’t taken it for granted every other minute of my life.  If I am feeling down or anxious or worried, simply spending a few minutes to celebrate my ability to deeply breath helps remind me of how wonderful it is to have the seemingly simple pleasure of automatically taking in air.

Last time I was anxious and felt my stomach starting to get nervous, I forced myself to sit still for a few moments and relax and breathe, and it made all the difference.

When I gave birth without an epidural to my first child the only way I got through the pain was a combination of focusing on my breath, on his passage to life, and lots of good hot water from the shower pounding my stomach.

When I read an excerpt in my voice class and have to project to the audience in the back of the room, I can do that only if I focus on deeply breathing.

So my short blog today has lengthened by my random meanderings about the power of breath…it is one of those common miracles that is easily overlooked but well worth honoring.

http://www.mindful.org/mindfulness-practice/mindfulness-and-awareness/five-steps-to-mindfulness

Leave a Reply

The Junia Project

A Community Advocating for Women's Equality in the Church

Park City Farmer's Market | Park City, Utah

Farmer's Market Wednesdays at Canyons Park City 12-5PM

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The Blog of Author Tim Ferriss

Tim Ferriss's 4-Hour Workweek and Lifestyle Design Blog

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

Vanguard Blog

Insights and opinions from Vanguard leaders

Ancestral Voices

by LINDA PROUD

fox5sandiego.com

Get the latest San Diego news, breaking news, weather, traffic, sports, entertainment and video from fox5sandiego.com. Watch live streaming newscasts from FOX 5 San Diego, KSWB Channel 5.

A.C. Melody

Love on the Edge

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

the bippity boppity beautiful blog

let's create something beautiful - Katie Ann De Crescenzo

eat.drink.give.go

a place to share experiences

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

