Dreaming of Vacation


There are so many places I want to visit, live in, explore … and so little time to take even a one-week trip, much less to stay someplace long enough to do more than make introductions.  Worse yet, my husband wants our vacation this year to be Alaska or tropical, and I want it to be Southern France, or the Loire Valley, or the Greek Isles, or Wales, or the UK, or Berlin.  And I’m ending up using my time off to participate in TEDActive, Qideas, my son’s graduation from college, Goddess Kamp and, to cap off the year, Rancho la Puerta.  It’s not like I have room to complain.  I’m blessed to be able to have spent most of the week at TEDActive in Palm Springs, hearing about ideas worth spreading.  And I’m beyond excited and proud of my son for graduating in four years, and the whole family’s coming to Santa Cruz to celebrate and renting a beach house for 5 nights from which we can explore the Boardwalk, Monterey, Salinas (Steinbeck museum), maybe even the wine country or Big Sur.  I’m also looking forward to what I’m calling my “Christian TED” experience at Qideas.  So it’s all good.  But it isn’t the year-long immersion in France or England I long to experience.  Guess I have something to look forward to; after all, anticipating and planning a trip is almost more fun than actually experiencing it!

Comments

  1. Lets plan a trip to the destination of your choice.
    I will go to Alaska at another time with the kids, if any want to go.
    I’m happy to do the Scotland trip or the France/Berlin trip. I would prefer to do two weeks in the Greek Isles, so perhaps part could be relaxing and family history gathering, the rest according to whatever agenda you choose.

Leave a Reply

The Junia Project

A Community Advocating for Women's Equality in the Church

Park City Farmer's Market | Park City, Utah

Farmer's Market Wednesdays at Canyons Park City 12-6PM

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The Blog of Author Tim Ferriss

Tim Ferriss's 4-Hour Workweek and Lifestyle Design Blog

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

Vanguard Blog

Insights and opinions from Vanguard leaders

Ancestral Voices

by LINDA PROUD

fox5sandiego.com

Get the latest San Diego news, breaking news, weather, traffic, sports, entertainment and video from fox5sandiego.com. Watch live streaming newscasts from FOX 5 San Diego, KSWB Channel 5.

A.C. Melody

Love on the Edge

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

the bippity boppity beautiful blog

let's create something beautiful - Katie Ann De Crescenzo

eat.drink.give.go

a place to share experiences

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

